Tried And Tested: The Best Anti-Acne Face Mask


They say being oily-skinned is a boon. Your skin doesn’t lose elasticity like other skin types and consequently you age slower than your peers. I admit it’s true. I do look younger than my age. But I learned over time that there’s a catch in everything thing that seems too good.

I’m an oily-skinned woman and my skin becomes greasy within an hour of washing it. If I wear makeup, no amount of powder can keep oil at bay for longer than 2 hours (I’m still looking for a powder that can do so). Even blotting sheets don’t absorb all the oil my darned sebaceous glands secrete. My husband likes to joke that between the oil production on your face and hair, we could open an oil factory! Ha Ha! Not funny! 😡

The worst thing about oily skins is break outs. I don’t know how but zits do seem to know when you’re going to go to a party and they make their appearance on the very day 😡

I’ve had my share of acne when growing up. I’d been on a constant look out for something that would work for me and make me completely free of acne (Yeah, I know, wishful thinking) be it a cream or face wash that promises to deliver the skin of our dreams (and they always fell short of their promises).

I HATE those ugly acne on my face. Though I don’t have a lot of them, still it would be great to have a clear complexion. And the thing I hate most about acne is the dark spots they leave in their wake to remind us that they would be back whenever they want. They wouldn’t just go away. And I thought I was stubborn.

Since all the cosmetics I tried didn’t work out the way I wanted them to be, I started to lean more towards natural remedies. I scoured the internet for all the remedies I can get that may work for me. I came across a lot of them. Most of them require ingredients that are almost available at every home. I’ve tried few of them. But the one remedy that I can swear by is Nutmeg-Cinnamon-Honey Mask.

When I first read about using nutmeg and cinnamon on my face, I was apprehensive. Wouldn’t it burn my face? Wouldn’t it make the acne more profuse? 😕

But extreme cases require extreme measures, right? If I want those ugly acne to heal fast, I must do everything I can.

As it turned out, all my doubts were cleared. Putting on Nutmeg-Cinnamon-Honey Mask onto my face didn’t burn it at all! In fact, it healed my acne much faster than any anti-cream or face wash I’ve used till date (Mind you! I’ve used a lot!)

Enough with my babbling. Let me tell you how I make the mask 🙂

Ingredients:

Nutmeg Powder – 1 Tsp

Cinnamon Powder- 1 Tsp

Honey – 1 Tbsp

Acne Mask

Mix all the ingredients with your index finger or you can use a butter knife. The ingredients won’t mix easily. But don’t increase the quantity of the honey because if you add more honey to make a smooth paste, it would later melt off of your face and drip. It would take some time to mix the ingredients from the above mentioned amounts. But eventually you would get a thick paste.

Acne Mask1

Apply the paste on your face (except your eyes and lips) and let sit for at least 30- 45 minutes.

Acne Mask 2

Then rinse the mask off with lukewarm water and pat your face dry. Apply your moisturizer.

You can use this mask daily for 3 days in a row and if the acne doesn’t heal completely you can skip a day or two and use this again for 3 days in a row. But it won’t be necessary. It would heal the acne in first 3 days only. You can use it afterwards to remedy dark spots.

This is a miracle acne mask. Cinnamon kills the bacteria on the skin (slaying the existing acne and thwarting the growth of new ones), Nutmeg acts as an exfoliant and exfoliates dead skin , and Honey makes the skin soft.

Important:

1. Do not use this mask on exposed skin, i.e., if you have popped your pimple, don’t use this mask.

2. Before using this mask on a sensitive skin, do a patch test first. Apply the mask on the inner side of your wrist. Leave it on for 30-45 minutes. Rinse off and wait for at least 24 hours. If you don’t experience burning or any other kind of skin allergy then go ahead, use it on your face.

3. If you’re allergic to either cinnamon or nutmeg, don’t use this mask.

Properties of the ingredients:

Cinnamon

1. Acne are caused by bacteria and Cinnamon is a powerful Anti-Bacterial/Anti Microbial substance, which makes it a great natural disinfectant.

2. Cinnamon is one of the top seven Anti-oxidants in the world (Anti-oxidants repair damage of almost all parts of our body from skin to organs.)

Honey

1. Honey’s Anti-bacterial property to kill bacteria lies in its ability of releasing hydrogen peroxide through an enzymatic process (which is also responsible for its antiseptic qualities)

2. It hydrates the skin and promotes skin cell renewal.

3. It makes the skin soft and supple by preserving moisture.

4. Its anti-inflammatory character helps in reducing redness and inflammation caused by acne and pimples.

Nutmeg

1. It is a natural exfoliant and helps in removing blackheads and dead skin, making it smoother.

2. It makes acne marks less noticeable.

3. It has antioxidants and is antibacterial.

 

Have you used this mask? What is your experience? Do drop a word! I’d love to hear from you 🙂

Ciao,

 samar

2 thoughts on “Tried And Tested: The Best Anti-Acne Face Mask

Your comments make my day. I really love and appreciate when you take out time to comment on my posts and share what you think of them. I hope to keep on hearing from my readers. Thank you for stopping by :) XO, Samareen

