Stay Oil-free with Urban Decay De-Slick Mattifying Powder


I was just checking my blog for the last time I posted anything and to my horror I saw it’s been exactly four months since my last post!! Oh my God!! Four months!! :-O I don’t think I’ve ever been this long away from my blog.

There are some genuine reasons for my absence. First my hubby changed his job so my visa got cancelled and then it took around three months for the processing of new visa. And when I came back my home was in a complete state of disarray. Understandable, right? 😛

It’s been around 20-25 days since I came back here and the cupboards of my home still need a hand 😛

So anyway when I saw the duration of my absence I decided to post a review I’d been writing before I went back to India.

Here we go,

The review of Urban Decay De-Slick Mattifying Powder:

 They say oily skinned women are lucky because they don’t get wrinkles as early as compared to dry- or normal- skinned women.

I’m a very oily skinned woman and yes I’m lucky in that way but I’ve to pay its price daily 😦 My face becomes oil slick within an hour of washing it or wearing makeup. I’ve been on constant hunt for products that would keep oil at bay for longer time. I’ve tried so many face powders but couldn’t find THE ONE.

As I was getting to know Urban Decay, I came across this De-Slick Mattifying Powder. It was relaunched with their Summer 2013 Collection. I’d never tried mattifying powder before and I wanted to try it very badly so I bought it online on Lookfantastic.com (An absolutely amazing site that has FREE Shipping worldwide!! :D). 

DSCN7097-002 DSCN7098-001 DSCN7101-002

It comes in a chic and elegant translucent dark purple lucite compact which is quite heavy compared to other compacts. The rose filigree on the compact is really captivating. It has a good sized mirror and soft, quite thin, pleather back puff applicator which has embossed UD logo. It used to get stuck to the mirror in the compact when it was new. The applicator is passable. I only use it for touch ups. Usually I either use powder brush, BH cosmetics kabuki brush or Sephora’s puff Real techniques Buffing brush for applying the powder. And I always brush off extra powder by using my hands.

DSCN7105-001 DSCN7106-002 DSCN7108-002 DSCN7111-001

DSCN7113-001 DSCN7116-001 DSCN7121-001
The Urban Decay’s website describes it as light lavender colored powder but to me it looks like pale white in color. It is finely milled pressed powder with a pleasant but faint fresh scent.

DSCN7393-001 DSCN7132-001 DSCN7397-001

DSCN7482-001

Initially, I was apprehensive because of its white color. I thought it would make me look ashy but it blended beautifully on my skin. It looks white in the pan but becomes invisible on application.

It works perfectly as a setting powder over foundation or just over the moisturizer. It’s incredibly light weight and gobbles up all the oil on my face leaving my skin mattified. It doesn’t clog the pores. Its key ingredient Rice powder is responsible for this oil-absorption and matte look.

DSCN9838_1-001DSCN9835_1-001

Usually if you reapply any powder, it looks cakey. But not with this powder!! Instead it gives a shine-free streak-free matte look on each reapplication.

Since the powder is transparent so it can be used on all skin types and tones without giving them a white cast.

It didn’t break me out and that’s because it contains green tea extract to calm and soothe the skin.

BUT! (Here we go! Foreboding!)

It doesn’t last as long as it claims to be. My face usually gets oily within an hour of wearing any makeup. This did prolong it but not to an extent as I was expecting seeing that this is supposed to be a mattifying and long lasting powder.

This doesn’t last for more than 1-2 hours straight on me. After 1-2 hours it needs touch ups, I had to blot oil from my face after 1-2 hours of applying this powder. This is the longest any powder gave me a matte look. I guess it would last long on someone whose skin is less oily than me.

If only it kept my skin matte for 7-8 hours. Even so, it’s still a good powder except its wearing time. It is my most used face powder and the first one in which I hit the pan.

 DSCN9827_1-001

I do really love this product, not only because it works well, but because the packaging is so chic and gorgeous.

Reasons to grab this:

  • Can be used on all skin tones because it’s transparent
  • Gives a natural finish
  • Gobbles up the oil, making skin matte
  • Doesn’t cake on reapplication
  • Easy to use
  • Light weight
  • Easily blendable
  • Cruelty-free
  • Gorgeous packaging
  • Value for money 
  • Mattefies skin instantly
  • Doesn’t impart white cast on face.
  • Parabens, Sulfates and Phthalates-free

Reasons to steer clear of it:

  • Does not last long.
  • Overpriced

Final say:

So, does it work for me?? Mmmmm…Let’s see:

I just love its gorgeous packaging!!

This does mattifies skin instantly and because of its transparent color, it doesn’t affect the color or texture of makeup when used as a setting powder. If you don’t have a blotting paper you can just lightly dab this on your skin for absorbing the oil. Be careful and don’t apply too much or you might look ghostly.

It’s so lightweight that it feels like you aren’t wearing anything and because of this, it gives a more natural finish.

This powder is only meant for oily skin. So if you are dry-skinned person then you should first check it in the store before buying because it might dry out your skin more.

If you’re looking for a mattifying powder with long wear then you might want to skip it. If you don’t mind doing touch ups then I suggest you try this because it’s lightweight, has amazing texture and tea tree oil (soothes sensitive skin and checks break outs).

This is not a must-have powder. I so wanted this to be THE ONE for me but alas! It’s not. I do use it because I really like it. If only it had longer staying powder I’d have repurchased it without thinking.

I’m still on the hunt for a perfect mattifying setting powder.

Did you try this?? Did it work for you? Do share your views?

Price: I got it for £20(AED 115) at Lookfantastic.com. Although in Dubai (at Sephora) it’s AED 140! :-O

Weight: 11.4 g

Availability: Available locally at all Sephora stores across UAE

Ciao,

samar

 

Your comments make my day. I really love and appreciate when you take out time to comment on my posts and share what you think of them. I hope to keep on hearing from my readers. Thank you for stopping by :) XO, Samareen

