The Balm Betty-Lou Manizer AKA “The Bronzing Bandit” : An Insight


It’s been about a month when I came back from India. I didn’t write anything in the meantime as I wasn’t up emotionally to post anything on my blog. It wasn’t a great trip at all. It became worst especially towards the end.  Suffice it to say that I wasn’t myself for days after I came back. I needed some time to collect myself and heal. Anyway I’m back to blogging world now and it’s all that matters. 🙂

You already know that I posted about my haul form The Balm. Actually it was a gift from my mom on my Birthday and Second Marriage Anniversary (Birthday – September  14 😀 and anniversary – November 12). Still days to go but since I won’t be with mom on both of these ocassions, she gave me my present ahead of time! 😀 and boy! What a present it is!! 😀

I’ve heard about The Balm’s products so many times in the blogosphere. Almost everyone was swearing by it. So when mom suggested that I buy something for myself I immediately ordered these products. You can see Here what I ordered. 

I’ll review them all within a short period.

My first review is about The Balm Betty Lou Manizer Betty-Lou Manizer AKA “The Bronzing Bandit”

The Balm describes it as :

Fake it, don’t bake it! Before you head out to relish some well deserved sun, score a faux, sun-kissed glow with theBalm’s Betty-Lou Manizer. Betty-Lou is a silky smooth, all-in-one bronzing highlighter, shimmer and shadow.

How to Apply
Layer this soft, talc-free formula on your lids for a luxe look, or sweep on your cheeks, forehead and chin using our Powder to the People brush for an instant, goddess glow.

DSCN5022-002

The first thing that hit me, when I first saw The Balm’s products, was its packing. Such ingenious and attractive packing!!  I love all things Vintage and all The Balm’s products feature vintage pictures. An instantaneous Yes for me!!! 😀

DSCN4896-001

Since last year people are going gaga over bronzing. To tell you the truth I wasn’t much into bronzing. I’m more of a blush person. But when I saw the swatches of this bronzer on Musings Of A Muse, I instantly fell in love with this (The list of the Makeup,  I’m instantly falling in love with, is escalating swiftly these days  😛 )

Needless to say that this is my first bronzer and I’m so glad I bought it. 😀

DSCN6620-002

Price : $24 (88.08 AED)

Quantity : 8.5 g e 0.03 oz

This bronzer comes in a silver sturdy plastic compact with a mirror. There’s ingredient list on the back of the compact.

DSCN4907-001

This bronzer is not Matte. It’s a bit muted bronze shade with a warm, golden sheen.

DSCN5023-002

DSCN4915-002

DSCN4913-002

DSCN6637-003

DSCN5036-001

Picture taken with flash

The texture of this bronzer is super soft and smooth like velvet and amazingly fine. It’s super easy to apply and blends like dream and gives a natural look. It’s so gorgeous.

Swatches :

DSCN6115-003

DSCN6120-002

DSCN6125-001Picture taken with flash

It does look metallic in the swatch but when you apply it over your face, it gives it a glowy sun kissed glow. Also it isn’t orange at all.

I use this to contour my face and sometimes just on its own when I don’t feel like wearing any blush. It’s gorgeous bronze color gives a beautiful glow to my face. It’s perfectly suitable to wear during the day and at night as well.

The thing I like best about is that you can use it as bronzer, highlighter as well as an eye shadow. It’s such a beautiful shade. You can create a smokey eye look or just wear it on its own, it looks stunning equally. I wore this in the picture below on the inner lid and as a highlighter and blending shadow.

DSCN6213-001

This bronzer is perfect for warmer and darker skin tones. It might not work well with pale skin tone. It’s an excellent highlighter for dark-skinned beauties as it would illuminate darker skin tones.

It’s enormously pigmented so I need to be a little light handed in its application. Just a small amount is enough to give my skin a bronzy glow.

Reason to grab this :

  • All-in-one Bronzer, Highlighter, and eye shadow
  • Extremely pigmented
  • Super soft and velvety texture
  • Long lasting
  • Easy to blend 
  • Gives face a sunny glow.
  • Easily carried in pouch.

Reasons to steer clear of it :

  • If you are a fan of matte bronzer as it’s not matte.
  • The color can be slightly orange on Fair or Pale skin tones.
  • Steep price

Samareen’s Rating : 5/5

Bottom Line : I’m absolutely in love with this bronzer. It has impressed me beyond measure 😀  Though its price is a downside but the product I get for this price is amazing. I mean it would last months before I need another one. I’m certainly getting another one when I finish this. 😀

You can buy the product from their website TheBalm.com

Ciao,

samar

 

Pssttt…

There’s a sale going on in Centrepoint. I went there some ten days ago and I got this gorgeous compact mirror I was eyeing for so long 🙂 I got it for 6 AED!!! It’s actual price is 19 AED!! Quite a bargain, eh?? hehehehehe 😀 

DSCN6547-001

 

5 thoughts on “The Balm Betty-Lou Manizer AKA “The Bronzing Bandit” : An Insight

  1. Pingback: theBalm 50% off 1 HOUR Only Flash Sale | SparkaliciousWit

  2. I wonder what happened on your India trip but obviously now it’s been eons, hope it wasn’t too bad. 🙂

    Love the review! I was thinking of picking this up and you certainly convinced me to get it. Thanks for making me poorer.. :p

Your comments make my day. I really love and appreciate when you take out time to comment on my posts and share what you think of them. I hope to keep on hearing from my readers. Thank you for stopping by :) XO, Samareen

