Labello Lip Butter : Raspberry Rosé : An Insight


The best way to become acquainted with a subject is to write a book about it.

– Benjamin Disraeli

The temperature’s been increasing day by day in Dubai. It’s too hot during the day and somewhat pleasant at night which results in chapped lips and dull hair 😦

Chapped lips can only be treated by lip balms. Woman of all ages love and use lip balms a lot these days. I don’t think you’d find a single ladies’ handbag which doesn’t contain a lip balm. Because of this almost every cosmetic manufacturing company is making lip balms today. The market is full of all varieties of lip balms – different kinds, different shapes, different prices, different textures, Phew! It’s rather overwhelming! You wouldn’t know which one to buy and which one to skip. I sincerely hope my post will enlighten you and end your constant journey in search of a perfect lip balm 🙂

I wear lip balms all the time. Since I’m crazy about them (to Mr. N’s horror 😉 ) I’ve tried a lot of them till date – plain, tinted, all of them. I abandoned those I didn’t like and held on to those I liked. So far the one I liked best was Maybelline’s soft and smooth lip color. It’s tinted and moisturizing as well. But since moving here (to Dubai), I’m finished with the one I had. I couldn’t find them anywhere here. Since last few months I was on a constant look out for a lip balm that could be a alternate for it. I tried Labello lip balm in fruity shine. I liked it, but not to that extent. This time I wanted to try something else. When I visited Carrefour this time I went straight to the Lip balms sections. I was looking through the lip balms when this beauty caught my attention. I’ve never heard of them and I’ve never used lip butter before. I admit I was rather curious about them.

There are four variants of this :

 1. OriginalLAB-tin-original 2. Vanilla & MacadamiaLAB-tin-vanilla
3. Caramel CreamLAB-tin-caramel  4. Raspberry RoséLAB-tin-raspberry

Image courtesy : Labello.com

Since I love raspberry flavor in general, I picked Raspberry rose 😀

DSCN3348-001

DSCN3354-001

You can view them all here – Lip Butters

Price : 9.75 AED

Weight : 16.7 g/19ml

Shelf life : 12 Months

It’s manufactured by Beiersdorf, the same company which manufactures Nivea products. It’s a century-old (Launched in 1909) brand of lip balms. Since the post is not about the company but the product, I won’t go more into this. For more information about the company, you can visit its website – Beiersdorf.com

Though, I’ll definitely enlighten you what the word ‘Labello’ means 😀

It is derived from the Latin words ‘Labium’ = ‘Lips’ and ‘Bellus’ = ‘Beautiful’

So Labello means Beautiful lips. It does live up to its name 🙂

This is what the company says about it :

Ingredients

The moisturizing formula contains Hydra IQ, Shea Butter and Almond Oil.

Application

Apply as needed to nourish and moisturize lips. The Lip Butter is applied to the lips with the finger, which helps to control how much butter is used.

Taste and smell

The big innovation for the Lip Butters: real Raspberry aromas in the formula provide authentic flavor and fragrance experience. The interaction of smell, taste and the touch of the lips indulges all senses.

Care effect

Do you want a sensorial experience, well-cared lips and a soft shine of colour on your lips? The indulging Lip Butter formula pampers lips and relieves dry, chapped lips. It seals in moisture in your lips long- lastingly and leaves the sensitive skin of the lips well protected against external influences.

Colour and Shine

The formula melts on the lips, restoring suppleness and adding a silky gloss.

 DSCN3287-001

Ingredients : Cera Microcristallina, Paraffinum Liquidum, Polyglyceryl-3 Diisostearate, Butyrospermum Parkii Butter, Ricinus Communis Seed Oil, Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis Oil, Aqua, Glycerin, Glyeryl Glucoside, BHT, Aroma, CI 77891, CI 15850

DSCN3292-001

It comes in an adorable metallic pot which in turn is packed into a paperboard covering.

DSCN3349-001

DSCN3289-001

The size of the pot is slightly larger than Bourjois baked blush.

P1130530-001

I personally liked the packaging but it can be a bit tricky to open it as the lid is rather firm. There’s no chance of it accidentally coming off. It requires a bit of effort to open it. People with short nails might have trouble opening it.

When I opened this tub I was greeted by heavenly fragrance of raspberry mixed with a slight note of rose. I knew at once I didn’t make a mistake on bringing this cute little tub home. Using it further confirmed it. The fragrance has a nice, gentle and calming effect. It is pleasant, fruity and soothing. It reminds me of the spring. The texture is soft, creamy and smooth. The lip butter is pale soft pink in color and soft to touch.

DSCN3320-001

DSCN3327

However, there’s just this little catch. I thought it would impart a slight pink color. But it didn’t. All it did was to form a somewhat milky film on my lips. It made them look quite washed out and pale. I concluded that this butter is not to be used outside your house. I usually use it when I stay at home and under lipsticks.

DSCN3333-001

DSCN3668-001

DSCN3359

 This is just a little thing that’s bad about it. It serves as an excellent base for lip stains and lipsticks. Some people might find it cumbersome to apply this with their fingers. I don’t mind it. It has a nice feel to it.

It moisturized my lips making them soft and smooth while hydrating them as well. It also protects from harmful effects of weather.

It does a decent job. It stays on and keep my lips moisturize for about 2-3 hours. Though, I quite like this pot packaging, it’s not very hygienic.

Reasons for grabbing it : 

  • Easy to carry
  • Easy on pocket
  • Heavenly smell
  • Rich Texture
  • Makes lips soft and smooth
  • Works as a base for lipsticks and lip stains

Reasons to steer clear of it : 

  • Impart a milky film on lips
  • Unhygienic packaging (Fine by me :D)

Except this one drawback, I don’t really find any other fault with this lip butter. This was the first time I used any lip butter and I’m extremely enchanted with them (I’m Kind of under their spell 😀 ). On the whole, this is an incomparable lip butter/balm for lips. I would definitely vouch for it. Try it, you’ll not be disappointed. As soon I finish this off, I’m buying it again 😀

Samareen’s Rating : 4/5

Have you tried this? Let me know how did you find it and also if my review helped you.

Thanks for stopping by 🙂
❤ Samareen

4 thoughts on “Labello Lip Butter : Raspberry Rosé : An Insight

  1. Heya 🙂

    I’ve purchased the Vanilla one and if you’re a vanilla fan then this is one product you’re missing out on.. The fragrance is light and goes off soon on application, thankfully 🙂

    I was wanting to buy the Raspberry one but maybe ill just stick to the vanilla one.

    Thanks

    Cheers

    • Hi Sals 😀

      Thanks for commenting 🙂
      I didn’t pick up vanilla because I don’t really like sweet smelling lip balms. But since you said the smell wears off I’m thinking of trying it 🙂
      There’s just one con of raspberry that it makes my lips whitish otherwise I love it 😀
      Thanks 🙂

  2. Diese neue Lippenpflege habe ich auch ausprobiert und war sehr zufrieden. Mal davon abgesehen, dass Erdöl enthalten ist, was immer etwas schade ist. =) Der Duft macht es aber wieder wett 😉

    Liebe Grüße vom Mamamulle-Blog =)

Your comments make my day. I really love and appreciate when you take out time to comment on my posts and share what you think of them. I hope to keep on hearing from my readers. Thank you for stopping by :) XO, Samareen

