NYX 10 color Eye shadow palette Champgane & Caviar : An Insight


I have been meaning to review this NYX 10 color Eye shadow palette for quite some time now but it didn’t come about because I was feeling very lethargic 😛

I got this palette from Healthkart.com and I must add, it was an horrible experience. First they didn’t deliver my package on time as it was promised on the site and secondly they sent me the palette which was manufactured in the year 2010. I didn’t ask them to exchange it as I was already very furious about their crappy delivery service. I got this palette after 15 days!!! Just think about the distance between Haryana and U.P. !!!! Enough with rants let me come straight to the reviewing.

Price : INR 1100 (Got it for INR 880 from healthkart-main reason for ordering from this site), $10 on nyxcosmetics.com

Weight : 0.49OZ (14 g)

Active Ingredients : Mica, Talc, Zinc Stearate, Mineral Oil,2-Ethylhexyl  Palmitate, Tridecyl  Trimellitate, B.H.T., Methylparaben,and  Propylparaben. MAY CONTAIN: Manganese Violet (CI 77742) Brown Iron Oxide (CI 77491/2/9), Ultramarine Blue (CI 77007), Ultramarine Pink (CI77007), D&C  Black No.2 (CI 77266), Chromium Oxide Green (CI 77288), FD&C Yellow No.5 (CI 19140:1), Red Iron Oxide (CI77491), FD&C Blue No.1 (42090:2), Yellow Iron Oxide (CI 77492), Black Iron Oxide (CI77499), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), or Mica (CI 77019).

Variant : It has a lot of variants but only few of them are available in India:

  • JAZZ NIGHT (ESP10C01)
  • STRIKE A POSE (ESP10C02)
  • CAVIAR & BUBBLES (ESP10C03)
  • CAT WALK (ESP10C04)
  • SUPER MODEL (ESP10C05)
  • ROMANCE (ESP10C06)
  • VERSUS (ESP10C07)
  • SECRET WORLD (ESP10C08)
  • HAUTE MODEL (ESP10C09)
  • BOHEMIAN RHAPSODY (ESP10C10)
  • CASTING CALL (ESP10C11)
  • VELVET ROPE (ESP10C12)
  • SEXY BLUE EYES (ESP10CECBL)
  • MYSTERIOUS BROWN EYES (ESP10CECBR)
  • BEAUTIFUL GREEN EYES (ESP10CECGR)
  • SMOKEY EYES (ESP10CSMEY)

According to NYX website,

Craving purple peepers? New takes on neutral? Or shades handpicked to flatter your eye color? You asked—and we delivered. After so many NYX fans requested an eye palette containing 10 eye shadows, we designed this version.

Look no further than these scintillating eye shadow palettes inspiredby runway trends and modern style. Available in 16 different color combinations, and sleek enough to fit into a clutch, you’ll likely want more than one. The shades are wearable, covetable and fashionable. Expect rich, lasting pigments and glamour.

My Views : The palette I own is called Champagne & Caviar, but while writing this review I visited the NYX website and found that they changed its name to Caviar & Bubbles.

The palette is elegant and sleek in look. It comes with nice large mirror and one double-ended sponge tip applicator. I don’t find applicator of much use as I always use brush to apply eye shadows.

When I ordered this palette I thought I would get all the shades of brown but when I got this, I discovered most of the colors were varying shades of taupe.

This palette has pretty awesome neutrals in it. This palette is a mixture of 2 frosty, 4 matt and 2 shimmer and 2 satin eye shadows. It has a matt creamy white, a frosty light pink, a frosty taupe, two satin taupes,  two shimmer taupes, two matt browns and a matt black. The white shade has become my favorite highlighter. Its smooth and matte : a perfect highlighter for neutral makeup.

It’s been my favorite palette these day 😀

You can clearly see which shades I have used more often than others 😀 The shades , are my favorite 😀

It’s an everyday palette but you can use it for special occasions, too, by using other colors on the crease and outer V. All the eye shadows are soft to the touch, supple and nicely pigmented. The shadows last for around more than 8 hours. The quality and pigmentation you get at this price (INR 88 for one eyeshadow!!!), is a steal!!!

I bought palette on a whim and I am really pleased that I did 😀

Swatches :

Picture taken with Flash

Without Flash

Picture taken with Flash

Without Flash

This is the look I created with this palette.

As a base : NYX eye shadow base, Kryolan loose powder

On the lid : I used color no.7

On outer V : I used color no. 8

On brow bone : NYX jumbo pencil in milk.

Reasons to pick this :

  • Beautiful Neutral colors
  • Balanced mixture of matt, shimmery, frosty and satin eye shadows.
  • Travel friendly
  • Long lasting
  • Easily bendable

Reasons to skip this :

  • Not water proof
  • Not smudge proof

But these reasons are not going to keep me away from this. Fat chance!!! 😀 😀 I am utterly in love with this palette :p :p

Will I be tempted with it again?

Absolutely!!! Its such an amazing bargain!! I will try out other variants, too.

Hope you liked this review 🙂

Thanks for stopping by 🙂

4 thoughts on “NYX 10 color Eye shadow palette Champgane & Caviar : An Insight

Your comments make my day. I really love and appreciate when you take out time to comment on my posts and share what you think of them. I hope to keep on hearing from my readers. Thank you for stopping by :) XO, Samareen

