My way of cleaning my Makeup Brushes…


Today I am going to tell you how to clean your makeup brushes without using expensive brush cleaners.

There are two main reasons why you need to wash your makeup brushes regularly:

  • Dirty brushes attract bacteria which in turn may cause break outs and other infections on your face. Using unclean eye brushes may even result in some serious eye infection.
  • Washing the brushes increases there life span and they remain soft and smooth.

Earlier, I used almost every brushes I purchased but now I use just some particular brushes like the blush, powder, eyeliner, and mascara.

Since I was being lazy, I haven’t cleaned my brushes in a while. So I thought I should carry out this imminent errand of cleaning my makeup brushes today πŸ˜€

As I was going to do it, I thought why not write an article about it and let others know my method of cleaning makeup brushes. So I am sharing with you the way I clean my brushes.

The easiest way to clean makeup brushes is to use a brush cleaner. Just take some of it on a tissue and gently rub your brushes on the tissue. There’s no need to wash the brushes afterwards if you are using brush cleaner.

But these brush cleaners are quite expensive. I saw M.A.C. one on the internet. It costs around INR 600. I don’t think we are willing to spend this amount of money on brush cleaner when there’s an alternate way to do it. That too, inexpensive!!

I don’t know about others but spending so much on makeup brush cleaner is not just for me πŸ˜€

Let me first tell you about the things you need for this process.

  • Your brushes πŸ˜›

  • Any shampoo ( I am using Dove hair fall rescue shampoo)
  • Tissue Papers

  • Cotton Cloth/Towel/Paper Towel (optional)

First gather all the brushes together.

Now wet them by putting them under running water.

Now take some shampoo in your palm.

Now put few drops of water in the shampoo and take any brush and by exerting some pressure rub it back and forth in the shampoo on your palm.

Rub it till you get rid of all the dirt. Then put it on the wash basin horizontally with its bristles pointing towards inside of the basin.

Take another brush and do the same.

Lather and clean all the brushes in this way.

Then, when you get rid of all the makeup from the brushes, wash them under the running water and keep on exerting pressure while washing so that all the residue of the shampoo may drain from them.

After cleaning all the brushes, put them on the basin for few minutes to let the water drip from them.

Now, take a tissue paper and gently tap your brushes on it. This will remove the excess water from them and make them dry faster. You can use cotton cloth or towel or paper towel for this purpose, too.

If you want you can shape the brushes with your hands or you can skip this step all together.

Now transfer the brushes to another tissue and let them dry overnight.

Make it a habit to clean your brushes once in a week to keep them germ free and safe. If your schedule doesn’t allow you to do this weekly then you can clean them once every two weeks.

If you use your brushes for liquid or cream foundations, lipsticks, gel eyeliners, cream blushes and eye shadows, then it becomes even more necessary to clean the brushes after every use as bacteria breed on moisture. If you can’t wash them after every use, you can at least clean them on dry tissue paper till all the makeup comes off.

Some useful tips:

  • Don’t rub brushes in circular motions as it may mess up the bristles.
  • Rub them back and forth which help the bristles stay in place.
  • Make sure that the pressure of the water is not too high as it may harm the bristles.
  • Dry your brushes in shade.

Hope this article’s been instructive for you πŸ™‚

Thanks for stopping by πŸ™‚

XOXO, Samareen

17 thoughts on “My way of cleaning my Makeup Brushes…

  1. Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wished to say that I’ve truly enjoyed browsing your blog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing to
    your feed and I hope you write again very soon!

  2. My partner and I stumbled over here coming from a different website
    and thought I might as well check things out. I like what I see so now i’m following you. Look forward to checking out your web page yet again.

  3. I need to to thank you for this very good read!
    ! I certainly enjoyed every little bit of it. I have got you bookmarked to check
    out new things you post…

  4. Do you mind if I quote a couple of your articles as long as I provide
    credit and sources back to your website? My blog is in the
    exact same area of interest as yours and my users would genuinely
    benefit from some of the information you present here.
    Please let me know if this okay with you.
    Thanks a lot!

Your comments make my day. I really love and appreciate when you take out time to comment on my posts and share what you think of them. I hope to keep on hearing from my readers. Thank you for stopping by :) XO, Samareen

